There are nearly endless ways to arrange, sort, and filter your feature ideas on your Features board, but you'll tend to return to a select few board configurations for each of several PM use cases.
- Organizing new feature ideas
- Prioritizing what to build next
- Planning when to deliver it
- Monitoring each feature's progress toward delivery/launch
That's where views come in.
This article covers:
- Saving views
- Toggling between different views
- Renaming, deleting, or duplicating a saved view
- Sharing a saved view
Saving a view captures the board's current configuration for later reference or sharing with others.
Saved views on the Features board work similarly to collections on the Insights board and roadmaps on the Roadmap board.
If you're just starting out, you'll notice that any change you make to your Features board gives you a new option to update the existing view (Save), save the current configuration as a new view (Save as new), or revert to the last saved version of the view (Discard changes).
You can capture all the following board configurations in a saved view:
- Which columns are showing
- How features are grouped (e.g. Sorted list, By hierarchy)
- How features are sorted (e.g. by user impact, prioritization score)
- How features are filtered
Feature data itself is not captured in the view, so any changes to a feature's status, release, or driver score will have no impact on saved views, and vice versa. Changes to features and their underlying data are automatically reflected on all views where that feature appears.
If you make changes to a view, it must be saved in order to be retained. Otherwise, when you navigate away or refresh your browser, the view will revert to the last saved version of the view.
Toggling between different views
You can switch between views by clicking the view's name and choosing the view you'd like to see:
Renaming, deleting, or duplicating a saved view
Additional configuration options are available in your saved view list. From here you can rename, delete, or duplicate a saved view. These changes will immediately be reflected for all with access to the view.
Sharing a saved view
Once you've saved your view, you can share it by clicking the Share button or by hovering on top of the view name and clicking Share.
Using custom sharing settings
You can access custom sharing settings by clicking the icon beside a view's name or the share button:
By default, views are private with access limited to the person who created it.
You can share a view with certain individuals invited as members in your workspace, or everyone assigned to a certain team.
Alternatively, you can share a view with a specific role, for example, all makers, or contributors as well.
When you share a view with others, will show up in their list of views as well.
Which roles can edit saved views:
- Contributors can't update views shared with them, nor can they create new views.
- Makers can update views shared with them, and any changes they save will be visible to all.
When makers make a change to an existing view, the change will only be visible to others when saved.
Sharing views with private fields
In Productboard, you can customize the sharing settings for individual fields like particular objectives, tasks, or drivers.
If you try to share a view that contains fields not shared with the same audience (contained in filters, or displayed as columns), you'll have the option of removing those fields, or else updating their sharing settings.
Q: Why can't my colleagues see the changes I just made to a saved view?
Any changes you make to a saved view will only be updated for all to see when you save them.
Otherwise, they'll only be visible to you and will be discarded when you navigate away from Productboard or refresh your browser.