Using the Customer Board to see related customer context

scale_and_up.svg

The Customer Board is your go-to collaborative space for customer context, helping you and your customer-facing teammates impact better customer outcomes.

The customer board will help anyone get up to speed before a customer call or quarterly business review (QBR), provide an overview of customers' outstanding requests and their product status, and identify the right customers for discovery or a beta.

In this article:

Changing the Customer Board to a Company or User table view

You can switch between company and user context to see the relevant Company or User table view, in the top navigation bar.

Screen_Shot_2022-06-13_at_5.06.23_PM.png

Filtering the Company or User table

You can filter the Customer board to see the related customer context by clicking the Filter (Filter-1.svg) button.

filtrtcompanytable.png

Note: Customer Board populates your existing Salesforce Company Custom Fields and Dynamic Segments to the board. To update or add custom fields, see the articles How to import company data via Salesforce and How to prioritize using customer segments.

How to view Company or User details

To view company details, you can click on a Company you are interested in and see the Details tab. Here you can write a description and see the Custom Fields you have associated with the company.

2022-09-15_10-48-11.jpg

How to see a record of any customer's notes

seerecordsofnotes.png

On the company table:

  • Click on the company you are interested in under NAME
  • when the side panel is open, click on the NOTES tab.

On the user table:

  • Click on the user you are interested in under NAME.
  • when the side panel is open, click on the NOTES tab.

How to see relevant features and statuses for a customer

featurestatusesforacustomer.png

On the Company table:

  • Click on the company you are interested in under NAME.
  • When the side panel is open, click on the FEATURES tab.

On the User table:

  • Click on the user you are interested in under NAME.
  • When the side panel is open, click on the FEATURES tab.

How to add a new note for a customer

On the company table:

  • Click on the company you want to add notes to.
  • when the side panel is open, click on the NOTES tab.
    2022-09-15_10-56-07.jpg
  • Scroll down to Add new note
    Screen_Shot_2022-06-14_at_3.51.54_PM.png
  • Select the user and company the note should be associated with and click Add note.
    2022-09-15_10-59-13.jpg

Creating a new view

creatinganewview.png

  • To create a new Company/User view, click on the drop-down menu and select a new company or user view
  • This new view will default to a private view

Saving a view

savingaview.png

  • You can capture all board configurations in a saved view by selecting different filters in a Company/User view.
  • Any change you make to your Customer board view gives you a new option to update the existing view (Save View), save the current configuration as a new view (Save as new), or revert to the last saved version of the view (Discard changes).

Toggling between different views

toggling_views.png

Once a View is saved, you can switch between views by clicking the dropdown to select the view's name and choosing the view you'd like to see

Renaming, deleting, or duplicating a saved view

renaming_deleting__or_duplicating.png

Additional configuration options are available in your saved view list. From here, you can rename, delete, or duplicate a saved view. These changes will immediately be reflected for all with access to the view.

Sharing a saved view

sharingasavedview.png

  • Once you've saved your view, you can share it by clicking the Share button or
  • You can access custom sharing settings by hovering over the view name and clicking Share.

sharingview2.png

  • By default, views are private, with access limited to the person who created it. You can share a view with specific individuals invited as members of your workspace or everyone assigned to a certain team.
  • Alternatively, you can share a view with a specific role, for example, all makers or contributors as well.
  • When you share a view with others, it will show up in their list of views as well.

Which roles can edit saved views:

  • Contributors can't update views shared with them, nor can they create new views.
  • Makerscan update views shared with them, and any changes they save will be visible to all.

When makers change an existing view, the change will only be visible to others when saved.

Note: You can limit makers from updating views and saving changes by locking views.

For more information about locking views, see the article Locking views on the Feature and Roadmap board to prevent editing.

See also:

Was this article helpful?
9 out of 10 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.

Articles in this section

Our Support hours:
Monday to Friday from 9:00 am - 2:00 am CET. Monday to Friday from 0:00 am - 5:00 pm PST.
Productboard Academy
Become a Productboard expert with self-paced courses, quick tip videos, webinars and more.
Product Makers Community
Connect with product leaders, share and find product jobs, and learn how to approach similar challenges. Come join our Product Makers community.