Locking views on the Feature and Roadmap board to prevent editing

scale_and_up.svg

Locking of Features and Roadmap views allows you to control who can save changes to the view. By locking or unlocking the view, you can now control which maker can save changes to shared views. This feature aims to prevent accidental changes to views by other makers who have access to the view.

Owner_view.png

In this article:

Locking and unlocking views

To prevent accidental changes, a view can be locked by toggling the option in the footer of the settings.

This option is available to the owner of the view. This option is also available to admin makers.

View locked

Once the view is locked, only the owner or the admins can save changes to the view, update the sharing settings of a view or delete a view.

view_locked_test.png

View unlocked

When the view is unlocked all makers are able to save changes, edit sharing settings and delete the view.

Understanding the locking restrictions

The views can be locked by the owner of the view or an admin with access to the view. A view must have an owner assigned for locking to be available. Views created before the view ownership was introduced might have the owner unassigned. The admin must assign the owner first.

View unlocked

  • All makers with access can edit the sharing settings or save changes on the view.
  • The owner and Maker admins can lock the view.

View locked

  • Makers with access cannot save changes to the original view, they can only save it as a 'new view’.
  • Makers with access can view the sharing settings but cannot change them.
  • Only the owner and Maker admins can save changes to the view and edit the sharing settings.
  • Only the owner and Maker admins can unlock the view.

View ownership

All newly created or shared views have owners but some of the older views or views with owners that are no longer active, might not have the owner assigned. The owner must be assigned for the locking to be available. To lock a view, it needs to have an owner assigned.

To assign an owner to views, follow these steps:

  • On a roadmap or a Features view, click Share (If you don't see the Share button, make sure to click the Save button, and the Share button will appear).
  • Click the Assign owner button and choose the view Owner. Alternatively, you can click the Options (Dots-1.svg) button next to a name and click Make owner.

ezgif.com-gif-maker__32_.gif

Note:
  • Only Makers with Admin access or the current owners of the view can assign owners. Only makers can be assigned ownership. 
  • The views that are assigned to disabled users will be automatically unassigned. Admins can re-assign owners to those views that are publicly shared.

Creating a new view

When you create a new view (either via Add new or via Save as new) the creator is automatically assigned as the owner of the view.

The owner can also reassign a view to another maker. The previous owner transfers their view edit rights to the new owner.

Duplicating views

When the view is locked, the makers can’t save changes to the view. To prevent losing their changes, they can use the Save as new option that appears after adjusting the view. A copy that is private by default, is then created and they are by default assigned as the view owner.

ezgif.com-gif-maker__31_.gif

See also:

 

Was this article helpful?
5 out of 5 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.

Articles in this section

See more
Our Support hours:
Monday to Friday from 9:00 am - 2:00 am CET. Monday to Friday from 0:00 am - 5:00 pm PST.
Productboard Academy
Become a Productboard expert with self-paced courses, quick tip videos, webinars and more.
Product Makers Community
Connect and learn Product Excellence with a global community