Teamspaces and new navigation experience FAQ

Available on: Essentials, Pro, and Enterprise

With the release of our redesigned navigation and improved collaboration capabilities, product teams of all sizes can move forward with improved individual productivity and better collaboration across all your teams and stakeholders. In this article, we discuss frequently asked questions about the redesigned navigation.
Teamspace hierarchy.png

In this article:

Where can I learn more about how to use new navigation and teamspaces functionality?

Enabling the functionality on my workspace

How do I enable the functionality on my workspace?

You likely already have this functionality enabled automatically. If you don't, as a Maker admin, you will be able to enable it on your workspace by going to settings/labs and enabling the following flag:

Untitled (86).png

Will I be able to test the functionality myself, before enabling it for the whole workspace?

Yes, in case you want to enable the functionality just for yourself, use the private option.

Untitled (86).png

Will I be able to enable the functionality for the whole workspace?

Yes, in case you want to enable the functionality for the whole workspace, select the ‘workspace’ option.

Untitled (88).png

Will other users be able to see the labs flag and test the functionality?

  • All makers can turn the flag on and experience the new functionality. Makers cannot turn the functionality on or off for the whole workspace. Only admins can do that.
  • Contributors and Viewers do not have access to labs and cannot enable the functionality for themselves.

Board migration and best practice

Where have my views gone?

We have renamed views to boards and introduced the concept of flexible boards. Your views are now boards, and they are no longer siloed in sections (e.g. Roadmaps). You can create and manage your boards where your teams collaborate - teamspaces. You can also create and manage boards that are only relevant to you in your personal section.

Where will I find all the existing boards?

  • All your existing boards (previously views) have been migrated to the new navigation.
    • All boards that have been shared with at least one user (shared boards) have been moved to the ‘General’ teamspace
      • All shared feature boards will be migrated to ‘Feature boards’ folder
      • All shared roadmaps will be migrated to ‘Roadmaps’ folder
      • All shared insights boards (previously insights note views or collections) will be migrated to the ‘Insights boards’ folder
    • All private boards that have not been shared with another user, have been moved to the Personal section of the owner
Tip: Throughout the migration period, do not rename or delete the Features and Roadmaps boards folders under the “General” teamspace. In order for continuous syncing of boards, the name of the folder should remain the same while some users are still using the ‘old view’. You can move the boards from those 2 folders at any time.

How should I organize my teamspaces?

  • We recommend organizing teamspaces by, product team, pillar, department, or theme. There is no right or wrong setup; it really depends on how you work. Our support team is ready to assist you. We will share additional support materials, including webinars and ‘Best practices videos.’

When I turn it on in private, can I then set it up for my team and then turn it on for the entire workspace?

Yes, you can start by organizing the hierarchy yourself before asking other makers to enable it for themselves. As the last step, you can enable it for the whole org

I’m an admin, will I be able to see all boards?

  • Yes, the admins users will now be able to see and access all boards that live in teamspaces.
  • Admins users will not have access to the personal section of other users, and they will not be able to see private boards of other users if those users kept their boards in their personal section and do not share the link or the board with the admin user.

How will Insights work in the new navigation?

  • We made a big change to how your insights work. We have introduced the ability to organize and share your insights boards using teamspace. We replaced the original ‘Insights tab’ with a slimmed-down page. You can use it to
    • Add new notes if you are a contributor or maker
    • Browse all existing notes
    • Apply filters
    • Save boards into your personal section or teamspaces
  • All shared Insights boards (previously note views) will be migrated to the ‘Insights boards’ folder in the ‘General’ teamspace. Default note views, namely Unassigned, Unprocessed, and All notes will be moved. These default boards will be ‘locked’ by default. This means that only admin users can edit or delete them.
  • Private Insights boards that have not been shared with another user, will be moved to the Personal section of the owner. This includes default note views Assigned to me and Followed notes.
  • Follows will not be migrated over due to limited usage of the functionality in its current form.
  • All insights boards will become editable, including previously not editable default note views (namely: Notes Assigned to me, Followed notes, Unassigned, Unprocessed, and All notes), subject to board locking and ownership permissions.
  • We are also introducing a completely new functionality, Note filter templates, to provide a more guided experience to Insights users, which can help you get started with Insights, or if you are already familiar with the functionality, you can save yourselves some click while creating new Insights board or get to our best practices recommendations faster.

Untitled - 2023-05-15T140505.385.png

Untitled - 2023-05-15T140509.504.png

Teamspaces

Who can create a teamspace?

Admins and makers can create teamspaces. Only admins and teamspace owners can archive or delete teamspaces.

Can I control access to teamspaces? Is there a private option?

  • All teamspaces are currently open. Anyone can join a teamspace.
  • ✨ Planned enhancement We are planning to introduce the ability to restrict access to teamspaces with private and restricted options.

Are teamspaces available on all plans?

  • Teamspaces are available on all plans, but some limits apply on lower plans. See the Productboard Pricing page for details. 

school Productboard Academy Webinar

Get ready to see the newly redesigned navigation and improved collaboration available in your workspace. Learn how to prepare your workspace for greater productivity, better ways of working, and faster execution.

👉 watch now 👈

See also:

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 3 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.

Articles in this section

See more
Our Support hours:
Monday to Friday from 9:00 am - 2:00 am CET. Monday to Friday from 0:00 am - 5:00 pm PST.
Productboard Academy
Become a Productboard expert with self-paced courses, quick tip videos, webinars and more.
Product Makers Community
Connect with product leaders, share and find product jobs, and learn how to approach similar challenges. Come join our Product Makers community.